Log In
En EspaƱol
For a free confidential consultation:


599 Southwest Second Avenue - Fort Lauderdale, Florida - 33301


Criminal Battery Charges in South Florida


Intentionally touching or striking a victim against their will or intentionally causing harm to a victim. A first offense of battery is a first degree misdemeanor, and the sentence for conviction could include up to 1 year in county jail and a $1,000 fine. If the defendant has at least one prior conviction for battery, the offense is charged as a third degree felony, and is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of as high as $5,000.

Felony Battery:

A defendant can be charged with felony battery if they intentionally touch or strike a victim against their will and cause permanent disability, disfigurement, or great bodily harm. This crime is a third degree felony, and the sentence can include up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

Aggravated Battery:

The crime of aggravated battery is defined as committing battery by use of a deadly weapon,  or intentionally causing serious bodily harm, or permanent disability or disfigurement.  Battery can also be aggravated if the defendant is accused of committing the offense of battery on a pregnant woman and, they knew or should have known of the pregnancy.   This crime is charged as a second degree felony, and conviction can result in up to 15 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000. 

For over 30 years, Bradley M. Collins, P.A. has aggressively and successfully defended clients facing Battery, Felony Battery and Aggravated Battery charges.

Drug Crimes

Theft Crimes

Violent Crimes

Dui Defense

Sex Crimes

Other Offenses

Phone_icon   Call Bradley M. Collins

This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice nor the formation of a lawyer/client relationship. Bradley M. Collins, P.A.