DUI WITH INJURY
Florida law is particularly harsh on defendants accused of causing injury to others while driving under the influence (DUI).
Commonly referred to as "DUI with injury" this offense is charged against a driver involved in an auto accident who has a blood alcohol concentration of .08% or greater, or whose normal faculties were impaired by alcohol or drugs.
Penalties in Florida for a DUI WITH INJURY conviction:
DUI causing property damage or personal injury: first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
DUI causing serious bodily injury: third degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.
DUI manslaughter : causing the death of another person while DUI is a second degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000 (enhanced charges and penalties may be imposed if the driver is also accused of leaving the scene of the accident.)
For more than two and a half decades, Bradley M. Collins, P.A. has mounted aggressive and successful defenses to DUI with Injury cases.