LEWD & LASCIVIOUS BATTERY
Florida law makes it unlawful for a person to:
"(a) Engage in sexual activity with a person 12 years of age or older but less than 16 years of age; or
"(b) Encourage, force, or entice any person less than 16 years of age to engage in sadomasochistic abuse, sexual bestiality, prostitution, or any other act involving sexual activity"
Ignorance of the victim's age or belief that the victim was of the age of consent is not a valid defense to this offense, even if the victim misrepresented his or her age in some way.
Penalties for Lewd & Lascivious Battery in Florida
The penalties for lewd and lascivious battery may vary depending on the particular case. However, the act of committing this crime is a second degree felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $15,000, as well as mandatory sex offender registration for life. A defendant accused or convicted of this offense may face a ruined reputation and limited opportunities in the future in regard to employment, education, loans, and housing.
Bradley M. Collins, P.A. has aggressively and successfully defended Lewd and Lascivious Battery and other serious felony charges for more than 30 years.